Women in Combat

 Lifting the ban on women in combat

HUGE ISSUE!

This issue has been causing an uproar online!  People are battling over whether this is a good decision or not.  Some say it is a great idea and that women should be allowed to do the job they want.  Some say women can’t do the job as well as the men do.  You got a lot of men and women saying that women are not physically strong enough to do the requirements demanded in combat.  I have seen several people state that a woman‘s emotions would cause issues in combat as well.

Well….I’m pretty sure I’m about to make some people really upset!  My opinion is that it is a bad idea.  I don’t agree with lifting this ban.  Yes, I know there are and have been women in infantry units and such…I still don’t agree with it.

I know several woman are proposing the “equal opportunity” side for this argument, but that gets blown out of proportion.  They set standards and tests that have to be passed in order to be able to serve in combat, but just as soon as one misses the mark and is turned down it becomes a huge battle!  It has happened in the past and it will happen again.  “They were too strict, they weren’t fair, they were too judgemental, they intentionally failed me due to my gender.”  Not all, but a lot of women would “milk” those excuses when in fact, they just weren’t physically fit enough or whatever to pass the tests or the standards put in place.  Bottom line…A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE TO PASS THE SAME PT TESTS AND SUCH AS THE MEN IN ORDER TO FIGHT IN COMBAT.  If a man has to do 70 push ups within a two-minute period…so does the woman!

The physically fit part bothers me too.  I have to admit, I agree with the women that have stated most women just aren’t strong enough to be dependable in combat.  You got a 200lb man needing to be pulled to safety…a 120lb (for example) woman probably wouldn’t be able to handle that situation.  I would think the men would feel better knowing their guys have their back and would have no problems physically pulling them out of harm’s way.  Just my opinion…so don’t take offense please.

Next on the list…emotion.  Yea, I know some are probably rolling their eyes right now.  But the truth is, women are more emotional.  I’m not saying men are all stone cold or anything, but men tend to be more “act now, think later”.  I think that is a good quality in combat.  I would think most women would be more likely to freeze up or hesitate.  Those two reactions are definitely not good in combat zones.  Stress levels run high during a deployment and being in combat raising that stress way above the bar.  Here again, I think men handle high levels of stress a little better.  I know several people are probably thinking about PTSD right now.  And yes, PTSD is a huge problem resulting from deployments, but I still side with men handling their stress and emotions better.

I’m gonna catch hell for this next one!  But here goes!  CNN just published an article called “Unplanned pregnancy on rise in military.”  This is a problem folks.  A unit trains together and prepares for deployment together.  It’s damaging to a unit when women have to stay behind, after training and preparing together, due to unplanned pregnancy.  It is irresponsible.  Yes, I know it takes “two to tango”, but being responsible for your part within the unit is necessary.  Also, this is an issue during deployments.  Here again, completely irresponsible.  It costs the military, as stated in the CNN article, around $10,000 to send a servicewoman home from overseas due to pregnancy.  You get sent home, your unit is down a soldier due to this issue.

So, there you have it!  I know lots of people will disagree with me and that’s ok.  I stand firm on my opinion.  I am more old-fashioned and I was raised that way.  I’m proud of that.  Women can do lots of things that men can…combat just isn’t one of them.

P.S.  I just have to add in this little funny tid bit!  I just ran a spell check and “servicewoman” was underlined in red.  When I clicked on it, the word that popped up (since red means misspelled) was serviceman!  LOL  Damn!!!

7 thoughts on “Women in Combat

  1. I agree. (JMO of course) Women,well most, probably couldnt handle the stress of a combat MOS. Hub’s also just told me that(and he’s not sure if this still holds or not) if you got pregnant,either on R&R or while in Afghanistan/Iraq, youd get an article 15 and Kicked out. Like I said, he’s not sure if that still holds or not, theyve changed their policies a billion times. Im a firm believer that while women can do amazing things(I dont see a man pushing a watermelon through a hole the size of a lemon), somethings are for men. I respect any woman who can accomplish these tasks the way a man can, I respect a woman for trying. However, like you stated if a woman fails, she is likely to call fowl on the militaries part. For example The Citadel. It was,for a long time, an all men’s school. Women pushed for equality. 15 started out and after the first 3 days all but a few had flunked out. The last few didnt last past the first two weeks. When they were ‘kicked out’ so to speak, they cried fowl stating that they were kicked out because they were women and discrimination and all of that. In reality, when records were pulled out, it showed that they were incapable of accomplishing the tasks that the men had to do(as they were held to the same standards). Men even flunked out of the program. Like I said, this is all just my opinion but I totally agree with your post.

    • armyliving13 says:

      Thank you! That was an excellent example! I forgot about that one. Screaming discrimination and inequality never fails when things like this happen. And you’re right, women can do amazing things. Combat just isn’t one of ’em! I’m not sure about the Article 15 thing either. I do think there should be some sort of consequences for being irresponsible during deployments.
      Thanks for reading!

  2. Jenn says:

    Excellent post! You definitely bring up some good points, especially about the strength and unplanned pregnancy. It isn’t sexist in the least to raise the issue of unplanned pregnancy because let’s be real– we’re sexual beings and it’s natural. It’s going to happen. So I do agree with you, some precautions need to be made in the issue of unplanned pregnancy.

    And the strenght issue, I didn’t even think about a woman pulling out a 200lb man. Well, 200lb person, I should say! But I wonder if a woman can physically train for that kind of weight lifting? What do you think?

    • armyliving13 says:

      Thank you!
      I think, with enough determination, some women would be able to gain the strength needed to withstand the physical duties. It would take a good deal of weight training, but I’ve seen some women that could probably pull it off!
      Thanks for reading!

  3. Jenn says:

    Good point! I think I’m kind of on the fence with this issue of women in combat. I think a certain type of woman can handle it, and the same can be said for a man.
    But I also see your points and agree with you. This is definitely a sensitive issue that would require some deep and sound reasoning.
    I wonder what my husband thinks of this. LOL I’ve never asked him before.

  4. First, kudos to you for being brave enough to post your opinion on this, and I’m sure you got a lot of flack. However, while I agree that women should be held accountable to the same standards as men in the military, I’m still on the fence because I think there are women out there who could probably go toe-to-toe with a man, but maybe not every woman who’d like to. After all, have you ever seen female weight lifters? Or some of the fitness gurus on TV like Jackie Warner? I’m thinking she can probably do 70 pushups. She certainly tosses around 10 pound weights like she’s merely doing bicep curls with a cup of coffee, LOL. Her biceps are bigger than my 26-year-old son! 🙂 Just a though. However, either way, I DON’T think they should lower the standards of physical fitness to allow women in combat because if a 250-pound Iraqi soldier attacks one of ours, our soldiers/marines/navy seals whoever MUST be up to the challenge of defending him or herself.

    • armyliving13 says:

      I completely agree with you about not lowering the standards of physical finess for women. If the chance has been given to do the job…they have to do the job in the same manner as the men. The women must hold their own in combat or their unit could be compromised.
      Thanks for sharing your opinion and thank you so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

