Attraction…how is it measured?

Today, with all the magazine ads and popularity contests and pressure….damn, looking good has become a major headache.

Society plays a major role in appearance today.  Magazines push for the perfect skinny shape with all their clothing ads.  Weight loss companies make a fortune dishing out empty promises and their get skinny quick schemes.  Mean ass women make overweight women feel ugly and gross.  The list goes on and on with the negativity aimed towards overweight women.

We’ve all heard it before…your hair can be curly or straight, but never frizzy, flat, or unkept.  Your face must be free and clear of acne and makeup perfectly applied.  Accessories are a must.  Earrings, rings, bracelets, and necklaces must match the outfit.  Oh and the outfits.  Clothes should be fitted and clingy in all the right places.  The more skin you got showing the better.  Jeans must flaunt your figure and your butt has to have that flattering upside down heart look going on.  Shoes…damn shoes!  Heels, boots, flats…gotta have all different kinds and coordinating them with outfits is a necessity.  And let’s not forget body shape!  It never seems to matter how tall or short a woman is, just the size of her clothes.  Size 0-2 seems to be the going thing.

But do all those things really matter that much?  I mean, my hair usually does whatever the hell it wants to do.  My face has tons of freckles and I rarely wear makeup.  Makeup just seems to be unnecessary to me.  My face needs to breathe dammit!  I don’t wear any jewelry except my wedding rings.  Clothes…just jeans and t-shirts for me.  Yea, sounds lame I know.  Have I wanted to wear those cute designer clothes before?  Sure.  But at the cost of not being myself or trying to fit in just doesn’t appeal to me.  I think I only own three pairs of shoes.  Bodyshape…UGH!  Well, let’s just say round is a shape!  I’m not the skinniest chick and I’m not the biggest, but I’m me.  Shouldn’t that be good enough?

Losing weight is a priority for me.  I admit, I do seem to struggle with the motivation part, but shouldn’t health be the main focus?  Instead of outward beauty being such a main concern, shouldn’t being healthy matter more?

And besides health, what about the idea of who a person really is?  What about their personality, their feelings, their compassion for others?  These qualities make a woman beautiful as well.  Outside looks shouldn’t be so damn important.  So many women and young girls go through hard times battling their weight.  Lots of women don’t feel worthy just because they are the wrong shape and size.  It’s high time everyone stops putting so much focus on those things.  Being happy and healthy need to be priorities.

So, in closing, please throw out the mind paralyzing idea of having to look a certain way to fit in or make someone love you.  Be yourself, whoever that may be.  Make health a priority in your life.  Being healthy will keep you around for a long time and will make you feel better than being a part of any “clique” ever could.

Love yourself.  When you do that, you shine!  That makes you attractive!

One thought on “Attraction…how is it measured?

  1. Tiffany says:

    Well said my friend_ beauty doesnt come in shape nor size, it comes from within the person. If bullies would focus more on their actual issues then taking it out on others this world would be merrier.

Leave a Reply

