Florida mom shot her kids…

Here is the article from CNN    http://news.blogs.cnn.com/2012/05/22/report-mother-shot-kids-at-very-close-range/?hpt=hp_t3

I was shocked when I read this story.  The first thought, as a mom, is…how could someone do this to their children?  I mean, taking one’s life is one thing…but taking the lives of your children?!?  I do not agree with suicide anyway, but harming your children is the lowest of the low.  The article states that she shot her kids at point-blank range…several times.  The ending was taking her own life.  Now, there are a few things that I question here…

First, this woman had to have had some sort of mental issue going on.  It could have been anger, depression, drugs, etc.  Regardless, I’m sure someone noticed an issue going on.  Why didn’t someone say something?  The article also states that friends and court documents show that the mother and son were having “difficulties”.  Difficulties???  If the courts were involved those “difficulties” were probably kinda serious!  So many times we have seen in the news that cases like this could have been avoided if someone would have stepped in.  The courts were already involved.  Why wasn’t something done or followed up on?  Stop putting these cases on the back burner and pay attention to the households with serious issues.

Second, the article states that three of the kids had gone to a neighbor’s house to say their mom had shot them!  It goes on to say that the mom called them back home and killed them…WTF!  So, these kids went next door bleeding…screaming their mom had shot them…she calls them back and is able to kill them???  I’m a little confused here.  Did the neighbor call the police?  Why did the neighbor allow these children to go back home?  Why would these kids go back home?

I don’t mean to sound harsh and I know I do not know the whole story…but there are so many holes here.  Nothing makes sense to me.  Four children are now dead.  It just seems like this horrible situation could have been avoided.

Here again, these are just my views and opinions.  I do not mean to step on toes or make anyone upset.  I just feel like too many times cases like this fall through the cracks and could be handled before such tragic outcomes happen.  Feel free to comment and leave your opinion on the matter.

Leave a Reply

