Hunger Games review

The Hunger Games was an awesome read!  My sister told me about them and kept insisting that I immediately get them on my Kindle.  My poor Kindle, needless to say, had to be majorly charged in the end!  These books were phenomenol!  Now, I have to admit, I am always a little skeptical when I hear that a movie is being made from a book.  They very rarely follow the book or capture the feelings and/or images I have for the characters.  So, with a hopeful attitude, I decided to go see it…

I will try not to give so many details away…so hang with me on this!  LOL

Jennifer Lawrence did really good playing Katniss Everdeen!  She did an amazing job portraying the character and really looked the way I had imagined.  Josh Hutcherson, as Peeta Mellarck, really captivated the personality that they book revealed.  I had him pictured differently, but can’t complain about the outcome.

Woody Harrelson and Lenny Kravitz played their roles perfectly as well.  Harrelson can pull off a drunk guy any day of the week!  Kravitz was able to show the soft, sympathetic role of Cinna without missing a beat.

 

Katniss volunteering as tribute was a touching moment.   I can only imagine, having a younger sibling myself, throwing myself to the wolves.  Knowing that this is it…leaving and joining 23 other tributes to fight to the death.  Only one is allowed to win, to come home to his/her family.

Rising up inside the tube to the arena had me on the edge of my seat!  The anticipation and all the possible images you are about to witness leaves you hanging by a thread.  I probably would have puked!  And I kinda made a fool of myself during the movie during the next few moments.  LOL  My feet were damn near running in place…kinda like pushing the imaginary brake while being the passenger in a car!  I would have stepped off that platform way too early and blown up!  Haha!  And running to grab a bag….shit!  Bag…what damn bag?  I would have just hauled ass for the trees!

The layout of the arena and how it is controlled was awesome.  All other cast members did a great job.  I’ve read comments online downing some of the cast members, but I really think the cast was chosen wisely.  The remainder of the “game” was very, very good!  The arena ending matched the book and the ending of the movie leaves you wanting more!   This film is a must-see!!!  The idea that something like this could ever take place gives me goose bumps!  Hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

