John Wayne…a true American

               

John Wayne…a true American!

Here are just a few little facts about The Duke.  John Wayne was born Marion Robert Morrison on May 26, 1907.  His middle name was later changed due to the fact that his younger brother was given the name Robert as well.  His nicknames were Duke and JW (family nickname).  He worked his father’s ranch until it failed.  He then began delivering medicine for his father, a pharmacist.  He rode a horse to school!  <~~~That’s just awesome!  He went to USC on a football scholarship from 1925-1927.  After several very low-budget films he got his big break in 1939 with the movie “Stagecoach”.  Since then he has appeared in almost 200 movies!  He was offered the lead role in “Dirty Dozen” but turned it down to star in and direct “Green Berets”.  His spoken album “America: Why I love her” became a best seller twice…when it was released in 1973 and again during the aftermath of the Sept. 11, 2001 attacks.  He appeared in an episode of “The Beverly Hillbilles” and when asked how he wanted to be paid, his replay was, “Give me a fifth of bourbon, that’ll square it.”.  Wayne was inducted into the Hall of Great Western Performers of the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in 1974.  He was a member of the Masonic Fraternity.  His favorite film role was Ethan Edwards from”The Searchers”.  He even named his son after that character.  It is rumored that he was offered the role of Marshal Matt Dillon in Gunsmoke.  He turned it down because he didn’t want to commit to a weekly TV series.  He recommended James Arness for the role and gave the introduction for the pilot episode.  In 1973 Clint Eastwood wrote to John Wayne asking if they could make a western together.  Wayne wrote back an angry letter criticizing the style and violence of “High Plains Drifter”.  LOL   In December of 1978 Wayne spoke publicly about government corruption, poverty, crime and drug abuse.  He won the Best Actor Oscar for “True Grit”.  And, of course, was a member of the NRA!  When asked about Maureen O’Hara he always replied, “The greatest guy I ever knew.”

 

Here’s a few of his famous quotes…

-I never trust a man that doesn’t drink.

-(accepting his Oscar for “True Grit)  If I’d known this was all it would take, I’d have put an eye patch on 40 years ago.

-I’m an American actor.  I work with my clothes on.  I have to.  Ridin’ a horse can be pretty tough on your legs and elsewheres.

-I don’t feel we did wrong in takin’ this great country away from them.  We were great numbers of people who needed new land, and the Indians were selfishly trying to keep it for themselves.

-(asked about the Oscars) Well, you can’t eat awards-nor, more to the point, drink ’em.

-Courage is being scared to death and saddlin’ up anyway.

-I stick to simple themes.  Love.  Hate.  No nuances.  I stay away from psychoanalyst’s couch scenes.  Couches are good for one thing.

-I am a demonstrative man, a baby picker-upper, a hugger and a kisser- that’s my nature.

-There’s been a lot of stories about how I got to be called Duke…Hell, truth is I was named after the dog!

-Men should be tough, fair, and courageous, never petty, never looking for a fight, but never backing down from one either.

-I don’t want to ever appear in a film that would embarrass a viewer.  A man can take his wife, mother and daughter to one of my movies and never be ashamed or embarrassed for going.

-I am an old-fashioned, honest-to-goodness, flag-waving patriot.

-You can’t whine and bellyache cause someone caught a break and you didn’t.

-When I die, just take me into a room and burn me.  Then my family and a few good friends should get together, have a few good belts and talk about the crazy old-time we had together.

-(on why he never wrote an autobiography) Those who like me already know me and those who don’t like me wouldn’t wanna read about me anyway.

-Talk low, talk slow and don’t talk too much.

-Sure, I wave the American flag.  Do you know of a better flag to wave?

-I wrote to the head man at General Motors and said, “I’m gonna have to desert you if you don’t stop making cars for women.”.

 

I would make a list of ALL his movies but that would be such a long list!  I do have a few to name that I think are well worth the watch!

Big Jake, McLintock, The Cowboys, The Green Berets, The Shootist, True Grit, The Quiet Man, She Wore A Yellow Ribbon, Rooster Cogburn, Rio Bravo, The Searchers…ok, I am gonna end up listing them all!  Just trust me, if you haven’t seen any of his films, watch a few of these.  You won’t be disappointed!

                  

2 thoughts on “John Wayne…a true American

  1. Tiffany says:

    I have to admit I wasnt that fimilar w John Wayne alot till I became apart of the Culberson family. Watching True Grit and my all time favorite was Cowboys that Kevin interduced me to are good movies. Reading all the quotes that he is quoted for n the blog on him was neat because I got to know him personally it felt. John Wayne is a great legend that everyone should know weither be a western fan or not.

Leave a Reply

