Kony 2012…my opinion

I have wrestled with the idea of even addressing this subject.  So many people do not understand the meaning of the word “opinion”.  My opinions are usually comical, yet there are certain subjects that cause a lot of drama.  So, I ask that you refrain from being judgmental and respect our differences of opinion…if we, in fact, do disagree!

Kony 2012 is a 30 minute documentary that was made to promote the awareness about Joseph Kony and hopefully lead to his arrest.  Kony is a Ugandan war criminal that runs the “Lord’s Resistance Army”.  This group kills and abuses the children of Uganda.  They steal the children and attempt to turn them into ruthless killers.  In October 2011 Obama sent 100 American military advisors to Uganda to help the Ugandan forces remove Kony.  Here is where I begin to have an issue.  I hate the fact that Uganda has this issue, I really do.  No child should have to worry about being kidnapped in the middle of the night…much less by a group that will either kill them or make them kill others.  BUT our military forces have enough on their hands right now.  Our soldiers are currently still in a war with Afghanistan.  Our country is dealing with a tremendous debt.  This debt will never decrease if we continue to rush into other countries instead of focusing on our own country.  Time and time again we see in the news how the debt is causing horrible economic issues.  And for some unknown reason…we continuously run to the aid of others.  We have issues here at home!  We have our own crime and poverty issues here.  Here is a link for current poverty stats within the United States…http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/01/03/child-poverty-20-percent_n_1181548.html.  And please take the time to look at how much money we have spent on the war at hand.  http://costofwar.com/en/.  The amount is staggering!  And I keep thinking to myself…”Why do our military forces have to rush to the aid of so many others?  Why should we, and no one else, handle the situation in Uganda?  Why did the U.S. have to handle the Haiti earthquake tragedy single-handed?  Who rushed to our aid when Hurricane Katrina caused so much destruction?”…I try to look at it using a smaller example too.  For example:  your household contains you, your spouse and two children.  Your marriage is a little rocky.  Your children are out of control.  Now, should you be rushing to the aid of another household every time someone else has a problem?  Or would it be smarter to fix your own household before you help others?  Wouldn’t it be more beneficial to take care of your own before you begin trying to fix everyone else?  If you constantly ignore your own issues at home they will never, ever get better.  They will continue going downhill until repair becomes impossible.  I am very proud to be American.  I love my country.  I love our freedom.  I do not want to see this country go down the tube due to the fact that we didn’t focus on our home at all.  I just think we currently have a lot on our plate right now.  I don’t want to see us have to add another issue to the top of the pile.  And please remember, this is my opinion…not meant to disrespect anyone.

On a lighter note…I actually laughed out loud on this one!  Jason Russell is the co-founder of “Invisible Children, Inc.”.  This group is responsible for the Kony 2012 documentary that was just released a little over two weeks ago.  Mr. Russell has dedicated a lot of time and energy to this film yet, he was just arrested!  Now I have to admit, when I heard he was arrested, I assumed it was due to some sort of public outrage about this Kony guy.  Naw!  LOL  It seems that the San Diego police received several calls and had to arrest Mr. Russell due to the fact that he was naked and masturbating in the street while vandalizing vehicles!  What in the hell is wrong with this guy?  And was he doing all that at one time?  ha-ha  Man, you have worked so hard to get your hard work noticed.  Your video went viral and reached thousands and thousands!  Why in the hell would you go insane all of a sudden?

Anyway, please feel free to express your opinion in a comment.  I hope I didn’t offend anyone with mine.

2 thoughts on “Kony 2012…my opinion

  1. Molly says:

    Totally Agree and I truly believe that the majority of Americans feel this way too. I just wish our “elected” leaders would do what they were elected to do and vote based on OUR wishes. We’ve gotta get our own house in order before we can go back to being the one that other countries rely on. The whole world knows what kind of shape we’re in so who do they think they are fooling?

  2. lmwills1 says:

    Yeah we’re in a bad way over here. We’re worse off than countries that used to rely on us! We need to er ourselves together. Quickly!

Leave a Reply

