Safety tips during a deployment

I’m sure you know how it feels to have your husband receive those dreadful orders that he has to deploy.  I’ve known a lot of women, like myself, that get a little more than nervous being alone with the kids all the time.  Nighttime usually adds to that fear.  I’ve got a few tips that may help you feel a little more at ease and eliminate you from being a target to those that seek out the vulnerable.  Some of these tips came from my husband and some came from friends…feel free to add any that I have left out!

1. Do not stick to the exact same routine day in and day out.  It’s very easy for a burglar to figure out when to expect you to leave the house if you do the same thing constantly.

2. If you and your husband have two vehicles, drive his truck frequently.  Leaving his truck in the driveway and it never leaving that spot lets the bad guys know he’s definitely not home.

3. Try to avoid advertising that your husband is deployed.  The shirts that say things about deployment and the ACU purses catch the eyes of others.  I AM NOT saying to stop showing your pride or love for your soldier.  But think about it, the t-shirts let the bad guys know your husband is gone.  The purses followed by the  stickers on the car may lead someone to pay closer attention to you and with the two rules listed above not being followed you are now definitely a target.

4. Shopping…Now, I am not a shopper and I don’t head to the mall every weekend, but I have seen several women who shop all the time and I would think that going in and out of your house alone with tons of shopping bags and tv and appliance boxes out by the road will not add to your safety.

5. Pay attention when you leave your apartment or neighborhood and in parking lots.  Look for out-of-place vehicles and people that don’t look familiar in your neighborhood.  In parking lots, try to go straight to your car, get in and lock doors.  Carrying your keys so that they stick out of your fingers when you make a fist might come in handy too.

6. Traveling at night should be kept to a minimum.  It’s harder to see through the shadows at night and you never know who could be lurking behind the bushes.

7. Be prepared in parking lots and your driveway in case someone grabs you from behind.  Thinking quick in these situations is not easy but if you keep yourself prepared it might just pay off.  Keys sticking out of your fingers or mace are good ideas.  You could try throwing your keys as far away as possible and dropping your weight to the ground.  I’ve never heard of a bad guy that will take the time to pick you up off the ground, throw you over their shoulder and go looking for those keys.

8. Keep your door locked, including the deadbolt, and alarms set.  If you do not want to pay for the activation of the alarm so that it contacts police at least have it turned on so that it does its job being loud as hell.

9. Any conversations with strangers asking questions….include your husband in them.  Such as…you are approached one afternoon by a man advertising his lawn services…tell him “no thank you” and that your husband tends to most of the yard work.  Keep those statements in present tense and do not bring up deployment.  You would be amazed at the amount of women who readily give out that information so easily.

10. Shotgun…Some people use guns and some don’t.  Personally, I own one.  My husband thought is was a great idea for me to have one.  You still have to aim decently with it but it will definitely stop someone from attacking you!  And most of the time, cocking it and someone hearing that “ch ch” noise….that’ll make ’em think twice before entering your home.  Follow good safety and keep any and all weapons away from children.

11. Facebook….Where do I start with this one?  People please stop posting where you are every second of every day!  Most of the people on your friends list don’t even care that you are at the mall or at the fair or at a club.  And when you post that you are going out-of-town for the weekend that’s just like putting a neon sign up in your yard.  Stop making every move you make public!

So, there you have it.  I’m sure there are several more and if I think of any I will add them.  I hope this helps some of you out there!

7 thoughts on “Safety tips during a deployment

  1. Krysten says:

    I really liked this post, I have started getting a little nervous when I think about things like this. Thank you!

  2. ladder says:

    I like the beneficial info you give in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check once more here often. I am quite confident I’ll learn a lot of new stuff proper here! Greatest of luck for the next!

  3. some genuinely choice content on this internet website , saved to my bookmarks .

  4. obd code says:

    Providing the answer of this concern is by some means difficult and not
    less complicated like this problem. It vehicle populates the accessible sensor
    readings (PIDs).

Leave a Reply

