Juicing

Health…It is such a huge topic nowadays.  Many people want to change their weight and appearance.  Through talking with several people and reading posts about the struggles we all go through,  I have decided to try a lifestyle change and share it with you.

I recently watched a documentary called Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead by Joe Cross.  Mr. Cross decided to go on a juicing fast for 60 days to reboot and detox his body.  Now, before I go any further…this is not medical advice that I am giving and you should really talk to your doctor before doing this fast.  I am not a doctor or nurse and my intentions are only to inform you of what I have learned and share my experience.

Now, with that said, I watched this documentary and was amazed that the human body could survive for 60 days based only on the consumption of juice from fresh fruits and vegetables.  Mr. Cross totally transformed his body by juicing all kinds of these foods.  He used kale, spinach, cucumbers, apples, oranges, celery, carrots and many others.  He lost a ton of weight and was able to come off the medications that his body was dependent on.  I am not on any medications and I do not have any medical problems that would prohibit me from trying this lifestyle change.  I have juiced over the past couple of weeks but must confess that I have had solid foods within that time as well.  To be honest, I was a little nervous about not consuming “food” for so long.  The idea of not chewing your food kinda hits you the first day or two.  It sounds crazy but you actually miss chewing and eating food.

But I am comfortable enough and determined to change my lifestyle now.  The plan I am about to start consists of 30 days of juicing and moderate exercise.  I will be using foods such as kale, celery, spinach, cucumbers, apples, oranges, carrots, strawberries, cantaloupe, tomatoes, peppers and possibly a few others.  I do not have a set number of times per day to juice.  I will juice in the mornings and juice throughout the day when I get hungry.  In between those “meals” I will be drinking water only!  My exercise, at this time, will consist of walking/jogging.  I do have the P90X program and have intentions of using it within this time frame as well.  I will update once a week or so to let you know of any progress, changes or any problems I have.

Before I end this post I just want to add…..Changing your health habits is a big deal.  It takes time and dedication.  You cannot expect change to happen overnight.  No matter what you choose to do to make your life healthier, it will take time!  And changes do not have to be so radical either.  Instead of juicing, you could just add walking daily or eating more fruits and veggies or taking the stairs over the escalator…small changes make big differences too!  Don’t give up and don’t give in.  No one can make this change but you and you have to WANT to make this change.

 

2 thoughts on “Juicing

  1. Aunt Ann says:

    great ideas! i’ve not seen the doc you mentioned, but a girlfriend of mine has…we’re both working our way up to the juicing thing…my juicer is in storage, and i can’t find it right now! so i’m making healthy veggie soups for now…good luck on this!! you’re inspiring me!!

  2. Marilyn says:

    I love having the juice in the mornings and as a late night snack. i have googled benefits of different foods and healthy eating choices…what i have realized that most ppl say is…if you dont recognize or cant pronounce whats in under the ingredients than it only means your liver is to busy working on getting rid of chemicals and not fat. juicing is a natural and yiu know exactly whats going in it. my only problem with this is that it is more expensive to be all natural. but we cant put a price on our health. and little by little i have found myself spending money on fruits instead of cookies or on vegetables instead of candies. Im so happy you introduced me to this. My juicer has become my new friend when im feeling inventive and even my 10 yr old loves it she makes fruit smoothies all the time lol. little by little i have gone through my fridge and googled healthy subtitutes for the items i had…i was pleasently surprised by what i found. ty again for the introduction.Happy Juicing! 😀

Leave a Reply

